Staring failure in the face

D

Sorry, not a cheery thread! I'm in my 4th year, have to hand in by the end of September. Looking at what I have to do, and what's done, I just can't see how it's possible. Supervisors know I think this, but we seem to be just cruising along as if everything's OK. (I can't go past 4 years: those days are over now - it's hand in or goodbye.)

I'm so stressed I can't tell whether I'm even able to judge correctly. I have no idea if I should be asking anyone for help - ultimately it's down to me to write the thing, what help could I get? It's not been for lack of work either: it's just that along the way I've managed to do pretty much everything that the "how-to" books say not to: spread out too widely, changed direction, didn't do something my supervisors really know anything about (or often that I knew anything about!). The result is where I am now, and it's looking like I can't do it.

It's very hard to believe four years of work (five with the MA before) could just crash, but I guess it's entirely possible - thwump, end of career before it started. Some part of my brain is trying to prepare me for that, but I'm also trying to carry on fighting.

Just wondering if anyone else has any experiences to share / any advice? I'm imagining thinking you're staring failure in the face is pretty normal for PhD students. But of course, it could be because it's true!

Apologies for the whingeing...

My hubs was like this about 6 months ago, until I whipped him into shape and essentially bullied him through the process haha! he's just passed his viva - something both of us felt was impossible a while back (me because of his lack of effort/motivation and him because he thought it was all awful etc.).

I'd suggest telling us where you're at on each chapter or section of work, how much is left to do specifically? (obviously while retaining your anonymity)

D