Starting 3rd year

C

I've just officially started the third year of my PhD, and I wondered if anyone on here is at the same stage, how you're feeling about what you've got left to do, etc. I'm feeling pretty daunted - the time doesn't half fly past! One thing I've already decided is that it's time to focus on the actual priorities and get rid of as much of the 'additional' stuff as I can - trying not to take on much in the way of conferences, attending extra stuff at uni and so on this year. It would be interesting hearing from anyone else who's at this stage and hearing what your plans are for getting to the end!

H

Hi Chickpea, I'm in my third year too :) Shall we make this a support thread?

I am doing nothing extra - no conferences, no teaching, nothing! Just focus, focus on finishing! However, I did submit a journal paper based on one chapter (not doing that again!), so I'm currently working on major and minor corrections for that.

I still have one study left to do, thankfully I already have ethics for the study and its pretty much designed, so its a matter of getting on with it (once the journal paper is out of the way!)

I have been writing as I have been going along, but I still have to write my literature review. So after my final study is finished and written up, I have 5 more chapters to write (intro, lit review, methodology, overall discussion and conclusion)!

Gosh I better get back to work! How much have you written so far? And where abouts are you with your studies/data collection?

W

Hey me too. :D I have to do some duties because of scholarship. I'm an invited speaker at a conference in Nov but other than that it's all about the write up.

I have My Methodology and conceptual framework though both need revision. I'm mid way through a first revision of my first analysis chapter. I have all my data in the bag and everything transcribed, analysis is ongoing. I'm planning on a first full draft by Jan. Then polish, polish, polish.