Starting Quote

Has anyone managed to start their thesis WITHOUT a quote? every one I pick up has a quote to begin with, but I can only find one thats relevant and I feel a bit precocious or something, adding it in.

N

I think a quote would be quite nice, I'm nowhere near writing my thesis but my supervisors want me to start it and each chapter with an autobiographical section - now that's cringey and pretentious!

B

I didn't have a quote at the start. I was a humanities student. Neither did my husband in his PhD thesis (computer science). I think they're superflous and daft :p

D

I didn't have a quote either, in fact I never even considered the possibility! However, I am in the science field so I guess this may be a subject related quirk?

S

I've liked quotes at the start of writing ever since I wrote a night-before essay where the quote at the start and the conclusion linked up perfectly. Just seemed like a nice bit of structuring.

I've already picked my starting quote. It's from the Wealth of Nations and serves as a talisman against (what I imagine) would be the main arguments against my thesis.

I've also got quotes for the start of my chapters, generally from ex-Presidents to add a bit of primary source oompha to the chapters arguments.

P

I've got a quote at the start of each chapter - feel a bit bad about it now!!

Quote From patience_1:

I've got a quote at the start of each chapter - feel a bit bad about it now!!

Don't feel bad! I think if I could find one from a good source then that would be fine, but I can't find a relevant one from anyone who's credible etc - everyone I know starts out with one by someone famous, and usually dead e.g. plato, aristotle etc. I can only find one who is the equivalent of richard branson :-s

A