Stay or quit and search for other options

M

Hello,

Probably mainstream topic for this forum; however, I have some different conditions which I would like to share with you. I'll try to keep anonymous due to the popularity of my supervisor in my field. The situation is the following:
I am a non-Eu student, finished BSc in one south-eastern European country. Was ranked top 3 in my class, received Honors, and later on a DAAD scholarship for German master. I chose a not good ranked university in Germany (don't know why), however famous in Germany due to its history, and finished an international program (MSc) as the top (ranked no.1) of my program and all of the other programs on my faculty. Received some other scholarships on the way and some awards of my thesis. My thesis supervisor is very famous in the field, academia and companies (High ranked UK PhD, many honors, all sparkly CV). After the thesis he offered me a position, for which I spent a lot of time thinking and finally accepted it 5 months ago. During this process, I contacted some other university, and I received a positive feedback from a supervisor on very highly ranked UK uni; and I applied for a scholarship, even though the deadline was past, as he encouraged me to do so. Later was rejected for the deadline reason; however, he was keen to try the next term, but I have accepted the other position already.