Studentship and maternity pay

S

Hi all

I'm a first year PhD student and pretty new to this forum :-), tho have found posts here to be really helpful in the past. Basically I wondered if anyone has had the experience of being on a studentship and getting paid maternity leave? I'm on a teaching studentship funded through my department, and know that research council studentships get 6 months paid leave. My department has a policy of making teaching studentships commensurate to research council studentships (i.e. award amount), but when I asked them if I would be treated the same in regards to maternity leave, they said the uni as a whole has no set policy on it and I would basically be a 'test case'. My husband and I have been talking about starting a family for some time, but I don't really want to make the decision without knowing whether it will be affordable or not. I've had a look online but it seems to be a bit of a grey area, so I wondered if anyone would be able to give advice (bearing in mind that I'm guessing different unis will deal with this issue in different ways anyway!)
Thanks, Socpol

H

Hi Socpol,

There are quite a few people on this forum who are mothers and will give you an insight on how difficult it is to have a baby and do a PhD. I would personally suggest, than unless you are ageing or have a medical reason, you should look at postponing the baby until you finish your PhD. It is incredibly difficult to juggle both roles (and I take my hat off to those who are doing it). You'd rather focus on your project and aim to finish early, then you can focus on motherhood. Just my two pence worth :)

S

That is not quite what she was asking chococake!

I am not sure Socopol, I am research council funded and get paid maternity and sick pay. My friend is funded by her Uni and she thinks she is not entitled to anything. I find that hard to believe though, surely they have to pay something as you would not get SMP.

B