taking notes

E

Dear all, I am happy to be with you in this forum, this is my first participation,
I am a PhD student in international law in Geneva University, I started last March.
My problem is how to taking notes or how to save them to be able to use them later. I read an article, and find a lot of information relating to various chapters of my thesis, so I cannot read about each chapter separately.
My Prof advised me to use excel for writing the notes and then when I want to writ about a specific point, make search for it in all articles. It is good way but it takes long time and boring. So can you advise me what is the best way to save notes

Thank you in advance

i use microsoft one note. Its essentially a scrap book on the screen, so you can have different pages for different chapters/theories etc. and you can do anything. Write notes on the screen, put screen prints, links to articles etc. I often use google books, but just want to put one quote to use later - so I screen print, copy it into my one note, and then add the link and a quick note to say what it was about and why I am putting it there. This has proved invaluable! Especially for those brainwave moments, when you just need to get it down, and then find it again 6 months later!

E

thank you very much for your answer, unfortunately I use macbook and cannot use Microsoft one note.
please if anybody knows similar programme.

tbh, I guess you could just set something similar up in any word processing programme. The only different thing about one note is that it appears like a folder on your screen - with tabs for each page - so like the tabs you would get in a filofax. and also it is always in your windows toolbar. But if you always had the programme running anyway it wouldn't matter

one note looks like:

http://vic20.files.wordpress.com/2007/08/onenote.jpg

http://www.scip.be/ImagesScreenshots/ArticleOfficeLINQ%20-%20OneNote_Hierarchy.png

E

Where are you I need more ideas

M