The Hardest Choice...

A

Hi, I've been reading these threads for a while, this is the first time I've posted!

My situation: I have an offer of a PhD place, which I need to reply to within the next week (i.e. by 23rd March).

I'm really in two minds about what to do, so I was hoping someone might share with me their thought process for accepting PhD places. What motivated you to do it? Did you do it for the wrong reasons and wish you hadn't? What does it take to get you through something as difficult as a PhD project?

I've been considering a PhD since I left uni (about 6 years ago). I didn't pursue it at the time since I wanted to experience working in industry. I'm now in a good, well-paid job that I can't complain about at all, other than by saying that it's really not for me and it's not where I want to be.

So, I applied for a PhD without really expecting anything to come of it. I had a few interviews and found out last week that they're offering me a place. So now the dilemma kicks in.

I've been thinking hard about my motivations and this is what I've come up with:

I love my broad subject area (Chemistry). It's all I want to do.
I think I would enjoy an academic career more than I enjoy my current career (in management). I can't think of another career I'd rather do, but that doesn't mean there isn't one out there.....
I love to teach
I really clicked with my supervisor, and have good feelings about working with her and the project in general.

But the things holding me back are:

I would be giving up an excellent job in a time where it's hard to find work. I am not at all blase about how hard it is to find opportunities like this.
I worry that i would find myself in three years' time with no job, in my 30s and worrying about my future. If I stayed where I am I could be in senior management by that time, with a very secure job.