Thinking about A-level results day

B

Can I join in, even though I'm a Scottish student so had Highers and CSYS's instead? I do remember my exam results - Highers 20 years ago, CSYS 1 year later. I was a nervous wreck waiting for them. The final year's results weren't so critical because the Highers came the year before, and got me into uni, so then I had another year at school studying CSYS knowing I was going to uni. But it was still a nervous time waiting for any results.

Of course now I'm doing a PhD I'm not even doing the subject I did at uni when I started 19 years ago. Things have totally changed for me, including a change in direction, albeit a very good one. It's not what I planned, but then I didn't plan on falling seriously ill and having to leave the first PhD. But it gave me a chance to re-evaluate my life, and study the other subject I adored, albeit part-time this time. And hopefully will shortly finish in PhD form :)

I actually lost my school certificates in a house move, so a few months ago I obtained replacement copies from the Scottish Qualifications Authority. It was quite nice looking at them again, remembering back to school days. Very fond memories of that time. Life was much easier as a school pupil. But then I am happy now too.

Quote From eska:

That's a good job to have had, did you pick up loads of tips?

Lol I tried - I interviewed students about what had gone well/badly with their phds and how to avoid the pitfalls. So I started off thinking "well I am never going to do any of that, my PhD will be a complete success" and 2 years later, I have fallen down all the same holes and am in a similar position to all the people who said their PhD went from bad to worse lol - Seeing the bright side!