Thinking of leaving before I'm in too deep

M

Hi Guys,

Just started a phd this week and it has not gone well. I've been ignored pretty hard by my supervisor and department, the uni staff have been very hostile and rude and I'm really not sure I want to be here anymore.

I'm of course interested in the research, but I just don't think I can hack three years with a bad university. The room full of phd students look exhausted and depressed, which is also very discouraging.

It also raises the wider issue, and I see this gets discussed a lot on here. Is there any point if there's no position for you afterwards? I'm working in agricultural science, and a cursory glance online at academic and postdoc jobs have not shown up one that a graduate in my area could get into. I have an MSc already, it was very difficult to find work after it, and all I got was voluntary stuff etc. I suppose I'm just envisioning more of the same really.

I could just leave on monday and it wouldn't be like leaving a phd, because really I never started.

Any comments plenty appreciated

A

Wow...I feel a bit sorry for the people in your department that you would make such a snap decision...

C

I wouldn't judge a whole department and university on one week. It may be that it's a time when everyone has tight deadlines they are trying to meet. I would never leave something unless I gave it a good couple of months. Yes, finding a job afterwards may be hard, but as you say it was hard without a PhD too, that's just the job market at the moment. If you really love your subject it will be worth it, if you don't then have a think about what you really want.

K