To visit a UK university as research student

I

Hey..guys, I'm a 3rd year PhD student in Australia. I'm planning to visit London for 3-4 months later this year. I'll be doing some academic research there. I'm bit confused about the type of visa that I need. I've been searching through internet for a while, but seemingly there's no information regarding visas for visiting PhD students to UK. I'm wondering whether I can apply for 'Academic Visitor' visa. If you have any experience on this, please give me some advice.

A

Tons of info at the Border Agency website

http://www.ukvisas.gov.uk/en/howtoapply/infs/inf5students

If you are not planning on working, I can't see it being a problem.

A

Hi ,
You can apply for visit visa or if your research institute in london send you letter than you can apply for study visa that would best suit you. Good Luck.

I

Hey,,.thanks. The problem is I'm not going to be enrolled in any course of studies in UK, and I'm a full time PhD student in Australia. Thus, I cannot visit UK as a visiting research student. For all practical reasons I'll be an academic visitor, working jointly with a Prof there for few months. I think I have to apply for 'Academic Visitor' visa, but I'm wondering whether my student status in Aus would cause any problems. I called the High Commission, but the help desk people knows nothing more than what is already there in the website. Please let me know if there are other PhD student visiting UK with 'Academic Visitor' visa.

K

I wanted to share my experience with everyone as I could not find anything on the internet that confirmed whether PhD's would be considered for the Academic Visitor visa in the UK. The wording on the UKBA website seems to imply that PhD candidates do not fit the criteria for this visa.