'translating' your work

P

Guys, bit of advice please :)

In a day's time, I will need to report from my ongoing fieldwork to a completely non academic audience. My work is at one level intensely intellectual, but on another framing has a policy relevant angle. However, this audience will be star academics (a few) and mostly media industry, policy, educators etc.

I am trying to (1) contextualise my stuff after a a star panel (2) scope my project in about 4 points (3) select 6 stories/quotes from the fieldwork to make 3 core points to drive home (4) conclude and open the floor to discussions.

Aiming for about 1000 words for 10 mins. Does the structure look Ok? any other tips?

PS: Yet again I find I am the only student speaker, so any advice much appreciated for am getting nerves at the thought of the audience, unlike all other audiences at the conferences I speak at.

Thanks guys!! :)

M

I'm so sorry I can't offer any help for I have no experience with this kind of thing, but GOOD LUCK for tomorrow, and the structure looks good, and don't be nervous, I'm sure you'll boss it. M,x

B

If speaking to a non-academic audience I always think in terms of how I would explain my research/topic to my mother. So no high-faluting language. Really simple. What's the core point.

Good luck!

P

Hi both

thanks much! I wrote it finally and did a round for myself and it's coming to 12 mins, with nearly 1700 words so I need to cut down.

Ok! let's see how it goes and will post back :)

Bug

T

Structure looks great bug, hope it went well!

P

hey Teek, it's tomorrow evening! :) Thanks!

P

For those who responded, to say, it's just got over. It went wonderfully well. Thank you guys!

A