Unsupportive parent.

P

Hi All
I was wondering if anyone has had a bit of opposition from your parents about doing a PhD? Any advice would be most welcome.
Bit of background- I graduated in 2011 and qualified as a pharmacist in 2012. I then worked at a pharmaceutical company in an office based job for about 18months. Half way through the job I realised that my passion lay in science and I started applying for PhD's in Jan 2014, and well, here I am now 3 months in.

The problem is that my mum whilst not outrightly against it, thinks that it's not the best decision and that if I wanted to do further studies, I should have gone back to do dentistry or medicine. The other day we were in the car and she wanted to know when the research stops. I said it's when I have enough data to write a thesis, but then it can go on after that etc. Her response was that 'I should have done a proper degree' in a quiet, slightly disappointed tone. She doesn't know that a PhD is the most merit-able qualification one can get. This is just one example, there are many others.

It's difficult because I'm from a British Asian background and there is this pressure to go to uni, get a job, get married and have kids. The fact that I've gone back to uni is a bit of an odd route for her and she doesn't know many people who have done a PhD, whereas we know loads of dentists, doctors, pharmacists etc.

I don't want my decision to be seen as second rate, and it does get annoying knowing that one of my parents isn't really behind me.
Any similar situations? Any advice or comments welcome.
Thanks

M

My native British in laws are the same! Especially the mother in law: she just thinks that a lady's position is in the kitchen, raising kids. Well, they are very religious and traditional. They think that having children is the ultimate goal in a woman's life (it bloody well isn't $&%$!!!).