viva is after 2 days

E

Hello all,

My viva is on Thursday and I cannot remember the details of my thesis. It is in human rights law and it is 300 pages. There are a lot of details I am reading it but I doubt I would remember any of them. Is it normal?

G

I haven't been through the viva process yet, but I've been in to speak to my supervisors about how I should prepare. I'm not sure where you're studying, but I'm in the UK and one thing that my supervisors told me is that the viva is not a memory test. you can take your dissertation in with you and make some notes. In fact this is an important thing to do. But the examiners don't expect you to remember everything by heart.

It sounds a little bit like you're panicking. I know it's hard, but try not to. Take a deep breath and remember: You know your dissertation better than anyone else because you wrote it!

Good luck!

E

Many thanks glowworm for you reply. I am studying in Switzerland and I think the system here is similar to that in the UK. I can take my dissertation and whatever document, conventions, statistices I might need in the defence. I am really panicking :)

H

Have you done *any* form of verbal practice with someone else? I'd really recommend it, even if only with a fellow student over a cup of coffee. You'll be surprised how much you can remember when actually on the spot and accountable to someone.

On a practical point, put page markers at the start of each chapter in your thesis so you can find them quickly without fumbling around. Maybe also mark key tables/figures that you think might be discussed, but don't get too carried away.

E

Yes Hazy I did discusion with a fellow student and it was very good but he does not read my thesis so his questions were general.

S

Hey Emma!