Waiting to hear about my PhD

M

Hi guys,

I had a meeting recently regarding my PhD. By the end of the meeting I was told that I will hear from them in a week or two. I have my own funding, which is approximately £65 000. They told me that I seem to be very keen and I have been told that my interview can be done over the phone because I am an overseas student.

What do you think my chances are?

M

Come on guys... you must have some experiences about how the universities think?

C

Very high at 95% of universities if your academic record is at all reasonable and you can pass any English as second language test if those apply to you. Just prepare well you'll be fine.

M

Thanks Commonsense,

I have been told that I do not need to take English test because I went to school in london when I was a child and did my Bachelors and Masters in the UK as well. I got 2i in my bachelors and will hopefully get a pass in my Masters.

Anything else I should prepare myself for?

C

Besides the burden of £65,000 worth of debt, crikey i swear Universities in this country have a nice way of fleecing foriegn students.

Good luck anyway with your application

Regards Wolfe

M

I know what you mean Wolfe. Several universities I have been in contact with wanted me to pay minimum £30 000 and maximum £37 000 per year including maintenance.

M

that is an amazing amount of money for a Ph.D - local Ph.D students at my uni get a fee scholarship, and many also get a stipend to live on.
Why go overseas to get your ph.d if you don't get a scholarship. I don't imagine it will make that much difference on your resume.

M

What do you mean by it won't make much difference?

R

Im currently enrolled on a PhD based on published work. If you dont get anywhere with the traditional PhD try considering this route which is more self-motivated and enables you to complete your PhD in less than a year at a reputable University while also getting yourself published.

G