Week to viva - haven't prepped!

T

I have my viva next Monday afternoon, and I haven't done any prep yet. I'm in the humanities - any tips for what I need to focus on this week?

I'm worried that I don't know the literature very well... I have been doing my PhD part-time for 9 years so some of the things I've referenced only a little bit were read a looooong time ago, and my memory is not brilliant. Are they likely to ask me specific questions about the contents of literature, or more about where my work sits within the field? If it's one of the key texts then I can say more, but I'm specifically talking about things that I've not looked at in huge detail..

G

Hi boakster

Congrats on getting this far and good luck with your viva next week.

I'm humanities too and had my viva at the end of September (passed with minor corrections). I was worried about the lit too, but I didn't get asked anything specific about key texts. The only thing they asked me outside of my own project was if I had heard of a certain researcher / paper that related to my topic - I hadn't and I wrote the details down and made 'interesting' style noises! That was fine.

Apart from that I was asked specifically about what I'd done and why, and a lot about the impact of my research and where it sits in the field(s), what had happened in certain situations in my research, why I thought certain things had come up/happened and others hadn't, and so on.

The main thing was that I went with a list of typos / alterations I'd make - I showed them this and they seemed happy that I'd been through the document thoroughly and was aware of some of the things they were going to suggest anyway.