What is or is not intellectual property theft?

N

Hi,
I'm looking for a bit of advice if possible? I am a second yr PhD student in Humanities. When I was applying for my PhD and funding I applied to another University as well as the one I am now in. I met with a potential supervisor about my topic and went through it all with them. They mentioned they had a current PhD student who was about to submit who was looking at a topic that briefly touched upon my own but they were looking at it from a completely different angle. I have been studying the same area since my undergrad so I had a lot to tell the potential supervisor as I was then tidying up my masters. The potential supervisor loved my topic and said there was a lack of research in this area and it should be definitely be researched. Well I ended up being offered a place at this university but they could not offer me full funding so I turned it down.

Over Christmas there I received an email from my supervisor telling me that he found out there was a postdoc at another university who was doing very similar stuff to my own research and they are getting ready to publish articles. I looked them up and it turns out it is this former PhD student who had been mentioned to me by their supervisor. Their research is now very similar to my own and it is either highly coincidental or there is something suspicious. I would love some other opinions if possible as to whether I am right to be suspicious or not and what I can do/should do? I haven't yet spoken to my supervisor about this, I am meeting them tomorrow face to face and will then.

Thank you.

P

It does sound suspicious to say the least. Whether it is IP theft I'm not sure. Sounds like a very worrying situation so I feel for you, hopefully your supervisor will be able to help.

N