what is practice where you are re . who attends the viva?

A

Hi all, after some ideas. I'm a student rep on the uni committee that looks at PG policy, and one of the things we have on the agenda is 'personnel in the viva'. Basically looking at whether to have someone in addition to student plus two examiners. Would welcome any info on what happens at other places (don’t need to know which place, obviously) and pros/cons of various scenarios - I realise most people here won't have had the viva yet, but any general impressions, anecdotal evidence or opinions welcome.

In particular:

Anyone have an 'independent chair' or similar? if so what is their remit - do they facilitate, can they only intervene in event of procedural irregularity, or do they just act as observer to be called on later in event of dispute. Are they an academic or someone else eg admin staff.

What is policy re supervisor(s) attending? are they allowed to, excluded, or required to. If allowed, is it encouraged/discouraged/expected/uncommon.

Anyone have any experience of different ways of trying to ensure 'fairness' eg making a tape recording to be called on in event of an appeal.

thanks!

F

Hiya

Well I have not had mine but have been looking at our policy as I am hoping to submit very soon. Our dept has recently introduced the internal chair person also but I am not sure what the remit is to be honest.

With regards to supervisors, they can be present (at my Uni) if you ask but they are obviously not allowed to say anything. It is certainly not practice that they are there though and I don't know of anyone who did have their supervisor present. I would not want it, it would make me even more nervous!