What is YOUR motivation for doing a PhD?

N

I finished my master's degree in biology this year and I opted for not continuing with a PhD because I found something more interesting to me.

But still I'm curious. While I had been contemplating about whether to go for a PhD or not I stumbled across so much negative comments that I wonder why so many still decide to do it.

So what is (or was) your motivation?
Is it the perspective of a better job afterwards, the fascination for a specific academic field, the desire to broaden one's mind, or just a lack of alternatives that makes you opt for academia?

I would be nice to hear some statements from you...

S

I suppose the money on offer was good, and I considered it like a job in that respect. I was interested in the project, and so I chose to do a PhD to prove to myself that I was capable of completing a degree of the highest level

G

Umpteen posts re this in the past. Do a search.

I first wrote the proposal and then approached the Universities for funding. So getting funding was a motivation on its own. Also creating my own schedule and work whenever and wherever I want is better than anything in the world. I sometimes get bored of the subject, and my mind starts to wonder about other projects but then I remind myself the possibilities that a complete project can open instead of a failed one. I guess that also can be called motivation.

S

I want to impress people at parties by telling them I'm a 'Dr'

S

and if only you'd known about Belford earlier

but then if you say 'Dr', they might assume Drive as in an address.

S

Money, chance of publishing, didnt fancy a 9 til 5 job, now have an 8 til 6-shitter!

K

I love my subject and didn't want to stop learning more about it.

G

Money..SarahM? Not to sure re per actual hour worked you wouldn't get more on the check-out at Aldi.

J

what is my motivation? i ask myself that question everyday ...

lol @ golfpro. It so true...

N

Thanks for you comments

@golfpro