Why are you doing your PhD?

L

======= Date Modified 19 27 2009 00:27:51 =======
1. Because quitting now will mean that I will be a failed PhD student for the rest of my life
2. My parents will commit suicide if I quit
3. I have no better alternatives at present
4. I want to keep collecting studentship money

Those are my reasons. Sad, ain't it?

S

I was unemployed.

I love my subject.

Everyone else is crap at my subject (seriously, this isn't arrogance, this is just the "gap in the literature".)

I've spent my entire education looking for a challenge.

S

I had a pretty good job before I started my PhD so it was a tough decision. I am doing my PhD because I believe passionately in the importance of my topic, and of the need for change. I suppose this naïve optimism has dwindled a little now since I recognise the limitations of research to actually influence change. However I still do believe that the work I do is, and will be, of some value. As cheesy as it sounds sometimes I forget that this is actually about getting me a qualification too.

E

1) Because I loooove studying
2) Because I looove my subject, which although it seems easy nobody in my country had ever studied before
3) Because if I have free time I don't know what to do with it (pathetic, I know)
4) Because my other half is living at the other side of my country while doing his medical training
5) Because I want to get a promotion at my job
6) Because I believe I can do it
7) Because my friends and family believe I can do it

S

Come on now Lostinoz.... Surely it can't be all that bad?

I'm doing mine because:

I love studying.
The most effective way to develop and progress as a person is to challenge yourself, and this is how I wanted to do it.
I love my topic.
I'm enjoying the freedom to manage my own work and develop it how I want.