working in academia- it's all about politic?

H

======= Date Modified 01 Dec 2011 20:59:58 =======
Dear all

I'm in my 3rd year and I'm considering to work in academia environment after I complete my PhD.

I really love doing research work but at the same time I am aware of the politic issue in an academic department.

The reason that I really love doing research is because I think research can us to understand more about human behaviour and ultimately my goal is to help people who have special needs.

The question is, is it not possible to avoid politic issue in an academic environment? Is it true that everyone works in academia simply compete who can publish the most papers, get higher salary and reputation? I have a feeling this type of attitude kill research badly.

Can anyone who works in academia tell me how is it actually like working in academia?

Thanks.

R

I would just like too response to your 'my goal is to help patients who have difficulty to enjoy a world in a normal like we do' Basically I am not sure what you mean by 'normal'. As someone with serious mental health issues and also doing a PhD I would argue that creating a binary opposition between 'them' (patients) and us (researchers) is ill thought out and slightly offensive

yes it is very political, but you can always opt out of the politics and just mosy along. However, if you want to push to the top or at least be reasonably successful in any job, then you will have to negotiate the politics.

C

I wouldn't say that trying to get as many papers published as possible is necessarily political, but perhaps I am being niaive. As someone who has acted as an academic mentor with those with mental health challenges, I too agree with the previous poster that polarising "normal" and "them" is a really bad idea.

B