Writing a submission from the "outside"

D

I am a mature student seeking a PhD - I have come to the conclusion I am probably too mature (early 50s) to capture a scholarship - many applications and no interviews, my supervisor for my BSc has helped with my applications etc and cannot see why I never get interviews. So...... I am looking to self fund and write a submission myself, however I am no longer registered as a student anywhere. I cannot get access to the journals databases as an alumni - how does one follow latest published research from "outside" so to speak. Stuff available on the internet is dated.

Anyone acheived this??

B

Hi Diane,

I have a couple of ideas that might help. If you do a google scholar search with date filters you can at least identify relevant recent articles as you'll be able to access the abstracts if nothing else. Google scholar also displays any freely available copies of the article and in my field, I've noticed that some overseas universities seem to have made their scanned study resources for their students open access, so you might be lucky. Also if you've identified an author, look on their uni website - more and more universities are making e-prints of their staff's publications available free or there will be a link to a working or conference paper that's similar to the finished article. It does take a while but can help. Also check the professional associations running conferences in your field - in mine at least they have a free database of papers given at their annual conferences.
Are you close to a university library - it might be worth seeing how much membership costs and what services it allows you to access. If that's not feasible, certainly my local library will interlibrary loan copies of journal articles from the British library. I don't know how much they charge though.

B