writing is sooooo difficult

D

HI - I am currently in my third year of phd - with 8 months of funding left. Finding it so hard to motivate myself to write. Should i feel guilty if I dont get something on paper each day....wake up in the mornings and find it so hard to be energised and productive....cant wait to finish but dont feel like that day will ever come! :-s

D

======= Date Modified 20 Jan 2012 10:14:08 =======
Writing can be overwhelming but you need to do it, deep down you know that you'll have to do it sooner or later and it would benefit you more to knuckle down to it now, while money is coming in. If you haven't already, make a plan with some flexibility built in and monitor the plan everyday. I tried to write about 500 words a day, as realistically I know I can't write with speed but I was producing quality work. This meant that I was writing about 15,000 words a month (usually at a minimum) and so a thesis could be produced in 6 months. I found it extremely difficult starting the write up but once I started and was able to see the word count mounting it made writing much, much easier. For me taking small steps worked and so try to find out what will work for you.

Good luck!

D

it is defintiely overwhelming - not so much the actual writing of words but trying to get the quality that I know I will need o pass a phd. 500 words a days doesnt sound so bad- and that would be awesome if it could be finished in 6 months. how much time realistically do u need to make revisions and polish off the work?

D