Y1 "projected deliverables" ?

J

======= Date Modified 05 56 2009 16:56:46 =======
Hello. For my (slightly late) three month review I'm preparing a report to be circulated to the review panel of my tutor and two other faculty members. The report structure asks me to detail my "Projected deliverables at the end of first year" ...

I have no idea what I can project to deliver at the end of the first year... so how do I answer this question without looking clueless?

I'm studying a certain aspect of architectural education, so I'm definitely more humanities than sciences. I'm building an impressive array of secondary research, but at this stage I'm only just beginning to think about first steps....

B

Will you have a literature review ready? Even an approximate one? What about a plan for what you will be looking at in the second year? That could count as a deliverable too :)

J

Lit. Review - definitely. I think I have to have that for differentiation from Mphil to Phd after 9 months.

As for a plan for Y2, yes. I suppose they want to see that I'm planning ahead and marking key dates etc. I'm just reluctant to commit to anything on paper beyond what would realistically help me achieve the project, without yet knowing what that might be :D

B

======= Date Modified 05 Aug 2009 18:27:53 =======
I think you need to put something down to satisfy them, but you can include some words to express that it's all subject to change depending on what you discover in the research etc. Also in your plan I wouldn't worry so much about giving specific dates, but perhaps instead giving a list of (vague) things you'd like to look at / start to look at in the next year. That gives you lots of flexibility for when you do it, and whether you do different stuff, while still having something down in the form of a (albeit vague!) plan.

J