struggling at Cambridge

D

Hi all,

I'm just finishing up the first (masters) year of a four year program at Cambridge (MRes+PhD). However, I've been really struggling with settling into Cambridge way of life and found myself to be quite isolated and unhappy for most of the year, despite my best efforts to like the place (and people). I am considering to graduate with the masters and take a year out, in order to apply for PhD in some of the London unis for 2017 entry. I really fear, though, that I will be giving up something that could potentially pay off well in the future, be that in academia or in industry. Basically what this ultimately comes down to is prestige + amazing PhD VS general happiness.

I know this is a highly personal dilemma but I'd appreciate any words of advise, or if you could share your own relevant experiences

Thanks!

H

Hi Dazzle,

What is it specifically about Cambridge that you don't like? Are all your friends in London?

H

I'm a PhD student at Anglia Ruskin (also in Cambridge). What problems are you having specifically? Although I haven't been here very long I really like the city

G