Advice ! What to do next ? Looking for a funded PhD

L

Hi guys !!
I'm Marina, from Greece and I really need your advice as I'm new at this !
I 'm at the last year in university and I 'm trying to figure out what to do next..
I study Molecular Biology and Genetics and Pharmacology,Neuroscience, Metabolism or Criminology would be ideal fields to be a part of...
I 've searched about scolarships, but if I can't get one I 'd like to find a funded PhD . In US I think you can go straight for a PhD, compared to UK.
Correct me if I'm wrong !
:-)

W

Hi Lamare, what a broad range of research interests you have. Generally, as long as you have the equivalent of an undergraduate degree with a classification that matches a 2.1 in the UK, then you will eligible to apply for a funded PhD in the UK (provided that the funding is open to applicants from the EU - it often is). www.findaphd.com is as good a place as any to track down potentially suitable funded PhD projects. Good luck with your search.

L

Thank you very much for your reply !
You know... The end is near , so I'm a bit stressed right now...
I think I'll wait to finish my exams [I'm taking a Radiobiology exam today :-) ] and then I 'm going to look up to findaphd.com
.It's just I don't know how things work ... Scholarships, applications, GRE tests ...So many things, so little time ...
I 'll be back to ask for your piece if advice as soon as I finish my obligations !
Thanks again ... ;-)

M

EU students are only eligible for fees-only studentships from the research councils, afaik. University offered studentships (not funded by the research councils) might cover both for home/EU students, but check the details of any advertised studentships.

S

Why dont you go for EU funded PhD programs like Marie curie programs, Early stage researchers, etc. THey pay u well and the projects are also good. It will give u international exposure also. U may see some offers in http://scholarships4phd.blogspot.com/

Q

Quote From mothy: