Impossible supervisor & motivation problems

Y

My supervisor always puts me down. I try very hard not to let her have such a strong effect on me, but I fail. I am a person that needs positive energy and I keep being dissapointed / overwhelmed by her negative behaviour. Although I have been a succesful student since 2003, I find myself lacking any motivation or self-discipline.

She makes me feel very insecure, and I end up leaving her room exhausted and feeling horrible about myself and my work. But sometimes she is very friendly and relaxed, which makes me feel bad about myself thinking mean things about her.
Recently I told her I would like her to be more involved in my work, and that I appreciated her giving me deadlines, but that these deadlines should be 'positive deadlines', e.g. including positive feedback etc. She looked at me with a smirk on her face and said: "What do you mean, positive? Do you want me to give you candy once you finished something?" I did not know what to say to this, and end up leaving her room feeling totally stupid and belittled. I find myself in such situations with her constantly. Sometimes she tells me very personal things, but the next day she is bitching around. Her motto: 'fake it till you make it'. That does not work for me: I am a perfectionist and an honest person. Basically, I am already quite harsh on myself, so I do not need her to do that even more.

Blocking her out leaves me even more isolated and lonely with my PhD. I have tried getting other professors involved, but find myself lacking the confidence to clearly explain my ideas. I feel completely incompetent for doing a PhD. Some of the Profs I did ask did not want to get involved, because they don’t like my supervisor.

How do I keep myself motivated? And how should I deal with my supervisor?

Any help is very much appreciated.

R

Hi Yannah, hang in there - lots of people on here have supervisor issues and someone may be able to offer some helpful advice.

M