People scared of you and your PhD

S

My position is slightly different. I completed my undergraduate degree 11 years ago and after 11 years of graduate jobs which paid reasonably well I had a dawning realisation that this was not what I wanted anymore. The prospect of doing the same thing in 5 years time filled me with horror. I'd always had a suppressed desire to do a Phd and rapidly came to the conclusion that the day I lie on my death bed recollecting my achievements in life and what I did for the world I would having nothing useful to say.

So instead I thought I'd do a career which actually interested me even if the pay is surprisingly bad.

So I'm giving up my decent paid job (hopefully not my house - I'll rent that out) and should hopefully start in September - if I pass the funding round.

Seriously guys, there are many out there who would give their high teeth to be where you are. I'm deeply envious!

S

I did discuss it with a couple of friends I went through school with who completed their PhDs a couple of years ago. They emphatically said go for it!...just don't expect to earn big bucks at the end of it!

Z

Some of you think I am stuck up - well actually I'm still close friends with some people who work in chicken factories and shops - and I was brought up in a family where most worked in these kind of jobs - so I know how bloody lucky I am not to be in the same line of work.

Z

I was brought up in a working class single parent family where 'some people dont have the opportunities or advantages that most PhD students are fortunate enough to enjoy' (as amanda would say) - I was never encouraged to do my homework, let alone go to university and do a PhD!! But I CHOSE to work my bloody ass off for years - rather than simply take the first job available in the local factory..however, it is true enough that many people are happy with their factory or shop jobs (although I've never met one).

Z

Dan B - it's you and me against the world babe!!

Z