Close Home Forum Sign up / Log in

Do I have a chance of being accepted in a PhD program?

A

Hello. I'm considering the possibility of asking some of my professors at my former faculty if they would like to supervise my PhD thesis. Although there are other universities with related PhD programmes, the PhD programme at my former faculty is the only one I like.

But given my academic background, I wonder if my ambitions are just unrealistic. Somehow I can see only arguments "against" being my supervisor. But I REALLY want to get a PhD in my field.

Is there a chance that they will accept me? If so, how can I increase my chances of being accepted?

My situation is:

I graduated in Science six years ago. My grades were not brilliant but fine. The professors who are candidates to be my supervisors now happen to be those professors I failed with when I was an undergraduate. I had to take the same courses with other professors whose style of teaching I found easier to follow.

My plan is to start the PhD course in the academic year 2011-2012, so it will be 8 years since I graduated. That's a long time without studying. Even if I work hard from now on to review all the stuff I learned as an undergraduate, I'm afraid there won't be enough time.

Since I graduated I've been working non-stop in a big corporation applying some intelligence to the data contained in our databases (somehow related to my university studies, but the relation is not direct).

Also, I've studied a 2-year masters course in a field related to my university studies, where I did a very good job, but unfortunately the grades were limited to PASS/FAIL, so instead of an A, I got only a PASS. So I can't prove that I did brilliantly there (unless I ask for a letter of recommendation to my masters professors).

I plan to continue working full-time while I study my PhD, so I would be a part-time PhD student. That could expand the amount of time I need to complete my thesis.