Is an MA easier than undergraduate degree?

M

I hope this post doesn't offend all those people working hard on their MAs. It has occurred to me that the grades in my uni where I'm studying for my master's seem a lot higher than they used to at undergrad level. I am however studying a different subject, my degree was in economics which perhaps may have a lower average than my current subject. It could of course be that master's students work a lot harder than undergrads, postgrads generally appear to be long past the partying phase of uni, this is bound to have an upward trend on grades. What do other people out there think?

K

Hey! I think a number of things can influence this. One thing I noticed is that a much higher proportion of people got a distinction on the MSc course than got a first at undergrad level on my course, even though the boundary is 70% for both degrees. I certainly don't think the MSc was easier than my BSc- I think part of the issue is that by the time you get to MSc level you have lost most people who got less than a 2.1 in their first degree, and you are also left with people who are genuinely interested and enthusiastic about their subject, so probably put more work into it. I got a first for my BSc and then a distinction for my MSc, but I wasn't that excited about the distinction because quite a lot of people got one, so I didn't really feel quite as proud as I was of the first, which I still feel sets me apart from other people more than the distinction does when it comes to applications and CVs etc. I imagine different people have different experiences though, it might depend a bit on the subject and university. Best, KB

B

In my Masters course I was the first person for a very long time to get a distinction, so it seems to have been very difficult, even though the other people had excellent undergraduate results.

F