How much a journal publication (I.F. 4+) mitigate low CGPA?

T

I am a mechanical engineering undergrad. My CGPA is around 3.15 (out of 4). I have a good research background with 4 conference papers and one journal paper( IF 4+) in material science. In remaining 6-7 months, maybe I can manage another journal paper. I have wasted my first 2.5 years in undergraduate school, and then have tried to come back. But the damage has been done. Now I want to do my PhD from a top university. For that I want to do my MS at first in a not-so-top university. Which universities are achievable my me? I am from Bangladesh and will try for fall 19. Oh, I think I can manage good GRE score, LORs. Thank you.

S

I don't know about US, in Europe all they look for is your research, they don't care about grades.

P

Quote From thp043:
I am a mechanical engineering undergrad. My CGPA is around 3.15 (out of 4). I have a good research background with 4 conference papers and one journal paper( IF 4+) in material science. In remaining 6-7 months, maybe I can manage another journal paper. I have wasted my first 2.5 years in undergraduate school, and then have tried to come back. But the damage has been done. Now I want to do my PhD from a top university. For that I want to do my MS at first in a not-so-top university. Which universities are achievable my me? I am from Bangladesh and will try for fall 19. Oh, I think I can manage good GRE score, LORs. Thank you.

I have no idea what you consider either a "top" university or a "not so top" university to be because I have no idea what criteria you are applying but you will get your answer when you start putting applications in.

N