Rejected application

L

Hi everyone,
I have a recently applied for masters in computer science in one of the prominent universities here in the UK. Unfortunately my application got rejected although they didn't explain why. I am currently living in the UK as my husband is working here. I have been a stay at home mom for 3 years and really wanting to go back to academia and pursue a Phd. I am from a non-EU country and willing to self-sponser. I have a masters in Engineering from my home country. Because of this rejection my confidence has taken a knock. I wish they had explained a bit more why my application was rejected, so I could work on it or find a way. Wondering what would others do if they were in my place. Thanks for any advice.

T

Hi Liah

Sorry to hear about this – these things are blows that can knock us down a bit.

When I had a rejection to study my undergrad degree I contacted the university to find out why. It is useful to know if they felt you did not meet the criteria as well as some other candidates or perhaps if the course was over-subscribed. Or maybe the personal statement needs work. Maybe you could try this? They may or may not be helpful.

It's tough but don’t be too discouraged by this. Can you apply for multiple universities rather than just the one?

All the best,
Tudor

M