Dating advice

M

Hello all. I'm cringing at myself for posting such a ridiculous question on here, but would welcome your advice!

I'm recently single (out of a long term relationship, where I lived with my bf). So, effectively, I'm new to dating. And I'm not having much luck...

I've been on a few dates, and a couple of people I know have asked me out, SO, you'd think that it's going well. BUT, I never really get past the first date stage.... a close (male) friend of mine recently told me that I am too honest, too self deprecating, and I drink/go out too much. He said the combination makes me less attractive when the guy clocks on. I think he may have a point.

Guys: do these features make for a kind of unattractive potential girlfriend...?

N

Hi Maria, I am a girl so I hope you don't mind me posting!

I can kind of understand what your friend means, you are clearly a clever and attractive girl (physically and personality-wise) otherwise you wouldn't be going on all these dates and have all these men after you! Don't think I'm analysing you or anything like that, but I think that if you're too self-deprecating that could be due to a lack of confidence, that is totally understandable if you are new to dating again, as it going out a lot and basically enjoying your freedom.

I think you need to have more confidence in yourself, these men are asking you out because they fancy you and are interested, so just relax and enjoy it. Let them notice your flaws for themselves, and they probably won't notice. The going out thing, they probably don't like that because it makes them feel insecure and they think you're going to meet someone else, particularly if you're drunk, I wouldn't worry too much about that one.

Good luck, Nx

B