Still unemployed after 18 months from finishing PHD

G

I graduated my PhD 18 months ago in a social science, -passed first time with no corrections. I was fully funded through out. I got a book contract almost immediately. I published five journal articles in good journals, and did three internships during the PhD its self. In addition to the three I did before my PhD). I started applying for postdocs after and have been rejected from all of them ( I lost court after the 50th application ).I applied for around 200 ( Again n I have lost count) of non academic posts. I have put my CV s and cover letters through all the right resources ( uni careers service, people who work in the sectors I am applying to)who all say my applications look good.

I was forced on to the dole because I was broke

I have (finally) found some temp seasonal pub work. But it will stop at NYE. I guess I just want to vent, but it seems that I have done everything right , and have gained nothing. I think Im actually worse off now than if I had just left uni with my BA

I have had a few interviews but have been told I lack experience. I cant afford to do anymore internships.

Is anyone else in this position , I’m really losing all energy and willingness to do anything much, its getting harder to get up out of bed in the mornings(not a good sign )

Is anyone else in such a position, I just want to know I’m not alone here. And that there may be some light at the end of this long and dark tunnel . Also any advice as I am out of ideas of what I can do with my life.

H

Sorry to hear about your situation, it sounds deeply frustrating.

Out of interest, what kind of non-academic jobs have you applied for? Do you tailor your applications/CVs for those or use the same one each time? With the non academic jobs, are you applying directly to employers or is it via generic job sites where applications are often first handled by recruitment consultants?

D