Venturing into a Masters- mature student - hints , tips and advice please

L

Hi everyone !
Yes , as the title suggests , I have decided to enrol onto a masters course . I’ve been working for the past 10 years and am thinking of studying full time . I have however heard that it is super intense . Do any of you have any tips , hints or advice ( things you wish you’d done or known ) that You could pass on ?
For example : to buy or not to buy books , how you stayed organised , what kept you going , what was the most difficult part , any websites that are particularly helpful for students , grants and funding , things like that really .
I’d really appreciate it !

T

It's not more intense than full time work. Also depends on what kind of masters - taught or research, subject area?

C

I suppose it really defends on the field, and what you mean by 'super intense'. Having finished a one-year, full time Master's this September after 23 years out of education, my experience is that a taught master's is not really that hard compared to undergrad degrees. I completed mine whilst also working full time in my business (50-60 hours per week, and its a long story why I had to do both together).

As buying books, not really sure that is necessary, as the library had everything covered in my case, and the online access to articles makes finding relevant material far far easier than my undergrad days, especially useful for finding references for concepts/idea we already know but can't quite remember where we got them from. This is especially helpful when working on assignments. That said, I did pick up some second-hand books from Oxfam, but they were dirt cheap ('Just and Unjust Wars' by Walzer cost me a quid).

Funding wise, most unis give discounts to former students, and some offer scholarships. Best to check on their websites. There's also the Master's loan, £10K a year, and repayable as in the undergrad loan.