1st Year Student with Anxiety (and Probably Depression)

C

Hello all,

I'm sorry for the sudden post, I am a regular lurker on this forum and have seen that a lot of people their worries here.

I'm 10 months into my PhD in biological sciences. I'm a UK student studying abroad, struggling with anxiety issues. It went to a bad start; the person training me didn't like me very much and gave me some bad advice, conflicting with that of the supervisor. I am constantly terrified of what others think, whether I am good enough to do this, whether I can even communicate properly (the official language of the lab is English but everyone else rarely uses it, I'm often left wondering what people are talking about.). I have an exam in a few weeks and I don't think I will pass due to lack of working knowledge.

It's got so bad that sometimes I don't even want to get out of bed in the morning. I force myself to go and stay in the lab but sometimes I cannot concentrate. Other people are a massive distraction so I prefer to read at home or in the library, but the other members apparently think I don't work hard or long enough because of that. I try to tell them I am working elsewhere but I often end up clamming up and withdrawing into myself. My brain feels like it's going to explode with all this worry and I've been off ill several times.

My supervisor knows that something is wrong but I don't feel comfortable giving him all the details. I do think about quitting, and sometimes worse... but I am seeing a counsellor and I am now considering seeing a psychiatrist as well to discuss medication. I've told my partner I feel like quitting but he tells me it's the worst thing I could do right now.

I'm not sure if I should even be here, with my head the way it is I just can't get any meaningful work done.

I

Hi,

I'm sorry to hear that you're having a difficult time.