Advice on 'cold emailing' PIs for post-doc

J

I'm a final year PhD student trying to navigate the post-PhD life terrain.
i've been advised that it's best to find a post-doc with a team that has already got a project underway and has funding as opposed to trying to get my own funding and start my own project.
The issue i'm having, and I think it's common is that HOW DO YOU FIND THESE POST DOCS? I've also been advised that they're not usually advertised. So i'm assuming you have to get in touch with PIs.

I do have some contacts, however there are some people that I would love to work with yet I've never spoken to them and they probably don't know who I am. So how OK is it to cold email them? Is it seen as cheeky to ask if they've got any positions on their projects?

Any advice would be great! Thanks :)

T

One way could be through your supervisors. Also I think meeting and getting chatting at conferences can be a good way to get to know people, and then that way it wouldn't be out of the blue if you were interested in their work and wanted to do a postdoc with them. There are also mailing lists that sometimes advertise postdocs less formally. I'd be interested to hear what others suggest too.

B

Many universities have announced / will announce next week hiring freezes unless 'business critical' as the pandemic is leaving many institutions in real financial danger from what I'm hearing from my own institution and friends elsewhere. Unfortunately postdocs are unlikely to ever be seen as business critical. If you can, it might be better to hold off for a bit, and see if the government is going to bail out universities (see BBC and Guardian reports on this today) and then things may loosen up a bit. I'd also be looking at industry options very seriously.

P

I would be very surprised indeed if we emerge from this situation without seeing several universities disappear.