Bullying

K

======= Date Modified 18 Jan 2011 21:28:23 =======
I am a foreign student in the UK. I am not sure if what I am experiencing is bullying at all because its a strange concept to men my age where I come from. There Is a "colleague" (thank God not in my group) who picks on me constantly. I dont mind occasional snide remark and to be honest at times find the veiled criticisms of others hilarious and I can take a joke. However one lady picks on me constantly, whenever I walk into a room she would have a retort ready for her friends. Its usually worse after 5.00 pm when most people have left.
Ordinarily I would have stood my ground and answered back but in this case I am a guest in this country (overseas student) and am funded by other people tax payer's money so I d rather just suffer in silence and wait to finish my studies. I have lied low for so long but its getting to me now and I cant stand her anymore. I hope i wont lose my cool soon and say something I ll regret

Does anyone else feel like this or its just me who is paranoid?

Thanks

H

======= Date Modified 18 Jan 2011 21:32:08 =======
Gosh that is horrid behaviour! You should stand up for yourself. It doesn't mean if you are funded you should stay quiet. You are contributing to the UK academic circles and to your university, and thus you have a right to be here just like the rest of us.

Take her aside and give her a piece of your mind. If you feel like you can't do, talk to your supervisor or someone else you can confide in. They sure should help you out.

D

It doesn't matter whether you've lived in this country since birth or for five minutes ; bullying is bullying. Don't let your being a foreign student here but an excuse - this is how bullies get away with it, thinking they're above things.

Maybe she hasn't realised how it has made you feel? Although bullies often know exactly what they're doing.