Can you do an MRes if you have a MSc to lead onto PhD?

M

I did my undergraduate degree passing with 2:2, a couple of years later i did an MSc, which i gained a pass. I worked in the industry for 4 years. It has been 12yrs since passing my MSc and ive returned to working in the srea of my studies which has re-ignited my passion and dream of doing a PhD. But most places want 2:1 and merit, plus I've been out of academia for so long i feel tge jump too big. So, can i do an MRes? I know it is a madters degree and i already have a masters.

Your industry experience will matter more than your MSc from 12 years ago. Universities consider mature students differently and understand that your experience is valuable. Though have you considered funding for a second masters? Also, you will probably get asked about your pass at MSc and it would be good to have a answer explaining that.

J

You most certainly can. At least 1//3rd of my cohort did MSc and then did the MRes before the PhD.

J

Meardonna, I think an M.Res would be great for you. Alternatively, there are some Doctoral PhD programmes which offer the 1st year of the degree as a taught component, in which students are exposed to different areas of research, reading groups etc.. before choosing their specific topic. I knew fellow PhD students in the Cyber-security area who undertook such a doctoral training programme. I myself did the classic MPhil/PhD with upgrade to PhD-proper in the 2nd year - this didn't have such a year, but I already had a defined problem to work on. Good luck!

M

I emailed the university i want to study at to ask about MREs. Saying i was a mature student and had Bsc (hons) 2:2 and an MSc pass, but they said they wouldn't accept me for MRes either even though have a masters! They listed some MSc courses they said would suit me better! Feels like my MSc is useless! Going to a postgraduate toadshow so hopefully talking to someone face to face maybe better?

E