Difficult decisions: Great PhD offer or good job..

A

Hi all,
I have an MSc and have just started working for a pharma company as a data analyst. However, on my first day of work i was offered a PhD at cambridge and am now in the terribly difficult position of either turning down a great opportunity or upsetting my current and possibly future employer by quiting after the first week.

A PhD may help me in my future career in pharma and thus be worth doing (plus it is a really interesting topic) or will the work experience be more worthwhile. I dont know if ill be able to get such a PhD opportunity again if the job doesnt go anywhere. The job does however also presents many interesting opportunities.

Anyone have experience of doors closing in pharma from not having a phd or is a PhD mainly useful for getting in the door.

K

Dear Andy,

If I were you, I would definitely go for the Phd at Cambridge. Its a reputable institution and you can bet employers will come after you afterwards. Just think and make the wise choice..

Goodluck

J

Dear Friend, if I were you, I would definitely not go for the PhD at Cambridge. It is a great institution but you will probably never complete your doctorate and/or go insane along the way. Trust me. Don't go down that route. You will regret.

J

Just one thing I would like to add, how do you know if it's a "great" PhD offer? Simply based on the university and/or funding, this is absolute nonsense. Unfortunatley you won't know if it really is a great offer until you've worked with your supervisor for a few months and have some sort of breakthrough in your doctoral studies.

R

In some respects I agree with both kenez14 and jouri on this. Although I dont believe in accepting a position purely on the basis of the prestigue of the uni ( the mistake I made )