how you manage papers?

I

Hello All,

I used to read a lot of papers and most of them are pdf downloads with a random name something like (2928393a.pdf) - sometimes I rename it and give it specific name, since they are related to one area so I can't create folders to categorize them. when I read a paper, I move it to folder name 'old', I am sure this will not work for long and is not a proper approach,

I am just wondering how you manage research papers? and how write/store information from a paper for your own usage? (for example, if I want to take a definition from a paper, how should I manage to know that I have taken a definition from it and need to give a reference and where the paper is saved)? :)

Thanks

B

I used EndNote to organise what I'd read. Because I'm a humanities student most of my papers/books were in print format, so I need a big bookshelf and filing cabinet at home to store them all! But the same principle applies. I use a field in EndNote to record where I've stored the copy of the paper - and that works for the rare PDF copies I have as well.

Because I was a part-time PhD student, over 6 years, plus with severe memory problems due to progressive brain damage, I'd forgotten most of the things I'd read years earlier. But luckily EndNote remembered them all for me, and my bibliography at the end was nice and full :)

P

Endnotes a lifesaver. Specially with how you can organise papers into different lists.

For the actual pdf's I name them 'Author, date, brief title' and then alphabetise them in folders (A to C etc), normally backed up across a couple of drives. If I need papers covering a certain area I can check endnote and then find them in my folders. I tend to only print out or have physical copies if I need to make notes on the move.

D