Leaving out poor grade qualifications when applying for funded PhDs

M

Hi all, I'm currently studying an MSc (doing well) and hoping to apply for funded PhDs afterwards. As is often the case, almost every funded PhD insists on a minimum 2.2 or 2.1 degree pass (and/or Masters). I only managed a 3rd class Degree back in 1997 (personal reasons for bad grades). Immediately before this, I did a HNC with a distinction/merit. I hope to get similar grades on my MSc.

I'm now wondering if it might be an idea to leave off the Degree altogether. There are other people on my course that have never done a first degree and are there due to suitable work experience (I too have 15 yrs commercial experience). So perhaps I could just mention the HNC, work experience and MSc grade?

C

For every PhD I have applied for I have had to provide my degree transcript. I was also in employment for a number of years before starting a PhD. A good result in your MSc should hopefully make up for any poor results in your degree. Requirements and preferences can differ dependent on the funding source and University. My advice therefore is to email the supervisors before applying for PhDs and give a brief overview of your background so that they can advise further with regards to your application, I would always do this. Sometimes I have been able to submit industry references, other times they have all had to be academic ones.

T

You'll be fine if you've got an MSc. Everyone knows a 2.1 now is a 2.2. back in the 90s anyway!

You can't leave off the degree - aside from being deceptive and dishonest, it will look odd. I see what you're saying, that other people don't have one, but they might ask you about it in an interview, and then what would you do? You could leave off the grade, but that does look a bit suspicious too and they might ask you about it anyway.

I would leave it on there as is and see how you do with an MSc as a top up.