Minimum Wage After English PhD

G

Hi all.

Essentially I'm wondering what kind of job-hunting experience other humanities PhDs have had? I finished an AHRC PhD in London last year, and since then I've been applying for any writing positions that I can find (which isn't that many back home in the north of England). I always saw myself becoming a lecturer, but with the postdoc market being so small (I've applied and been refused), sessional teaching being scarce at every university I've enquired at (6) and no savings to support myself on to move cities, I'm feeling very low.

The only position I've managed to get is a copywriting job for a clothing department in a supermarket, paying me minimum wage (£13.7k after tax), working in a windowless studio for five days a week and unable to afford anything that isn't my rent. I've sent multiple emails to HR asking about a salary negotiation, but I'm being flat out ignored, despite exceeding my targets consistently. There's barely any copywriting jobs coming up although I check the jobsites daily, everything seeming to be marketing work that not only wants you to be able to write sales copy, but edit graphics, market research and data anaylsis, run PR events- all of which I feel like I could do easily with a little training, but without a minimum of two years experience, nobody wants to know. I'd say 90% of the applications I've fired off haven't even received a response. I've never not had a part time job since I was fourteen- I've been a barista, worked in sales, office admin, freelance editor, note-taker- so my CV is far from empty, but apparently none of that counts for anything.

Basically I feel like none of this has been worth it. My PhD took a lot out of me, leaving me with chronic IBS, an eating disorder and a lot of debt, and I'd love to know if anyone has any message of hope out there.

E