negative feedback

L

Hi all,

Sorry to start yet another negative thread but I've received more negative feedback on my work this afternoon and I just wondered how common this is amongst PhD students, especially in their third year?

I know we do need some constructive criticism to help us develop but it seems to be always negative in my case, I think I've only had one meeting in the last year where the outcome was positive! :-( I'm panicking as I'm supposed to be submitting this year and it seems very unlikely that will happen now!

Looking forward to reading your responses!

C

Hi Linda,

I'm in my second year of my candidature, and I have written only two chapters. My Phd is quite different from what I did for my Masters. To make matters worse, my supervisor is an international star in his research area and I feel like a dwarf when I have to talk about my research in front of him. As expected, he is a perfectionist and many times I have come back from meetings with him with my work slashed here and there.

If it were not for our little boy who was born at the start of my Phd studies, I would have just given up...

Can you take a break for a few days, go somewhere and have a change of air, or at least, try to make some new friends so you can come back to your work with a renewed vigour ? Hope that helps.

B

Don't panic Linda.

I must admit I don't receive much negative feedback from my sup; however she is a very positive person, who is very focused on giving positive feedback to students, and getting the negatives in gradually. She always asks me what I think about my chapters, which is when I identify possible issues and she confirms them. I'm only in my second year so this may change though, as the writing gets more 'serious'.