PHD or Doctorate's abroad, Africa in particular?

S

Hi there,

Im currently in my 3rd year of a Psychology Degree and im struggling to find any information or even a starting point in regards to continuing my studies in Africa as a PHD student or to complete my Doctorate. has anyone got any advice? I want to apply soon as I dont want to waste time in England. i would rather go straight to Africa once I graduate.

Thank you in advance,

Sarah

B

My blunt advice would be that with the exception of South Africa, don't do it, if you want to work anywhere other than the country you get your doctorate in (and then check that they hire their own graduates - some countries really look for N American / UK PhDs). Otherwise Africa is a large continent and the rules will vary from country to country and from university to university. You'd need to narrow it down for anyone to help you properly. The relevant embassy in London might be helpful.

T

I totally agree. The sad fact is many developing countries are unable to supervise PhD students due to lack of knowledge and lack of experience - hence so many international students doing PhDs in Europe and the US sponsored by their governments. You are much better off doing your PhD in a developed country and then moving to the African country of your choice where you will probably find it pretty easy to get an academic job.

P