PhDs are expected to know everything. How to deal with this?

H

So i am quite hesitate to tell people that i am doing a PhD. Majority of people who i know are expecting that i should know everything like a live wikipedia and my behaviour should be perfect. My employer also makes a joke (or not) that "you are a PhD, you should do something that my company can grow bigger" even though i work for only 2 days/week. Some of my friends are also making fun when i use swear words.

How do i deal with these?

Thanks

Try not to let it bother you and laugh it off, would be my advice. Don't tell everyone if you are worried. I often said 'completing a study' and people assumed I was doing a Masters or just didn't know enough to ask any more anyway.

Many or most people outside the world of PhDs and academia really don't understand what they are or what they involve and there are many myths about doctoral studies and doctorates. Your colleagues are probably just teasing rather than bullying and a lot of it would be 'tongue in cheek', eg-not meant personally but as a light joke. The other end of things is when people believe your PhD means that you are someone with your head 'in the clouds', who has no understanding of the practical or professional world. This myth is common for those of us who complete a PhD but continue to work in a form of professional work such as teaching (schools) or similar. It can also be common in Australia where advanced education can be perceived as elitist, which is not always celebrated in our strongly 'egalitarian' country (beyond the academy or the science lab).

What is more important is what you believe and the genuine support you get from friends or families who love you and support your growth and achievement (even if they don't always understand it very well).

C