please.. help... severe depression?

C

hi all...
I know probably many topics have been listed on this subject.. Well, here is another one. I really don't want to sound like a baby, or like I am the only one who has difficulties but I can't help the way I feel. I am in my second year of a PhD and I think I have become clinically depressed. My first papers got rejected. That, combined with all the stress and pressure, and general tiredness of the PhD triggered this awful depressing feeling. I feel AWFUL all day long. I strugle just to get out of bed... I can't eat, or sleep and I am tired every day. I've lost weight and I am not feeling healthy. I really feel and believe that I am a failure, no good at what I am doing, and that I will not get my PhD. I keep looking at my work and all I think about is that it is not good enough and at some point someone will find something fataly wrong with it.

I feel lost and hopeless and that my life has no future. I hate myself, my university, my life and everything related to what I am doing. I cry almost every day. I can't focus on my work. I don't feel like doing anything anymore. My boyfriend is extremely worried about me, and he doesn't know what to do anymore. Obviously, this is causing a lot of problems in our relationship as well. My parents are also very concerned and I don't want to worry them all the time. I really want this to stop and this feeling to end, but I don't want to take any medication. I think about quitting my phd but I don't want all my work to go to waste!

Am I crazy? Does anyone else relate to me and know what I am talking about? Will things get better?

C

This doesn't sound good, not at all. And yes, it does sound like depression. I suggest you go and see your GP, I think it would be a good first step.
I hope things get better for you

C

Also - maybe try taking a few weeks off, go away somewhere if you can afford to. Take it easy for a few weeks, forget about the PhD (or at least, try to!)

B