QUESTION ON BIOINFORMATICS

D

'Discuss how DNA sequence information relevant to genetic diseases can be
accessed on the major bioinformatics databases. In your discussion, review the
content of the databases, the ease of access of the sequence information and
how the databases can be used in the diagnosis of genetic diseases'.

W

Seems like you've got your work cut out for you there, Drjydo. Fortunately I know just the book to assist you. I grew up reading it and it hasn't done me any harm. For instance, did you know that elephants are the only mammals that can't jump and the only mammals, aside from humans, that can cry? I'm sure you'll find the answer you're after in this book: http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Weetabix-Oxford-Illustrated-Book-Facts-Paperback-/320547789412

D

Thankyou for sharing your assignment question with us. Have fun writing it.

D

Thanks everyone, but could anyone give me some direction as to how to go about answering this question as i'm new to bioinformatics?
Any suggestion will be greatly appreciated.
Cheers.

C

Hi Drjydo, you should've been more specific with your help question rather than post the whole assignment. Genetics is not my field, however I know that PubMed is probably one of the largest databases you could use for accessing information in this field and it's worth spending time on it:

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/gquery/gquery.fcgi

CB

G

Whoever set you the question should have given you a list of some of the Bioinformatic websites available to analyse gene sequences. If you are that new to bioinformatics then I guess you don't know any. If you do know then the question is simple...in a way as all the information would be within the websites.

I'll give you BLAST http://blast.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/Blast.cgi there are more though and you should try searching for others.

Along with Pubmed you have a good starting point.

Hope this is of some use.

E