Ready to quit because of department politics

P

Hello everyone. I am new here and I need to vent and see if other people have any similar experiences to mine.

I am a 4th year PhD student at a Canadian university, and even though I love my supervisor and my research topic, I am so disgusted by my department and my discipline that I am ready to quit even though I’m ABD. I do disability studies work (qualitatively looking at how disability brings positive things to people's lives) but I’m in a small off branch of medicine. My work, and thus me, is completely dismissed by my department (except my supervisor). It would be like doing critical race theory work inside a eugenics department.

This has led to me feeling kicked by the department repeatedly and I’m miserable. They have repeatedly done things which are against university rules, but I can't report them higher up for fear of retaliation. Here are a few examples: I took over my supervisor’s master’s courses while she was on sabbatical. When negotiating salary, etc. for the position (essentially a temporary faculty position), they told me they didn't value the content, instructed me that they would not pay me more than a measly "honorarium (less than 10% of what I should have been making) and said if I didn't accept that, or if I went to the union, they would simply cut the curriculum content (which my supervisor has spent 20 years developing) and it would be my fault.