Relationship with supervisor

H

Dear all,

Do you have quite a formal or informal relationship with your supervisor? For example, would you start an email with 'hope you are well', or not?

D

I am a mature student which may change things. My relationship is as mentor mentee (?sp), first name terms and very informal on emails.

At our induction we were told that the nature of the relationship should change towards being collegues as the process goes on.

K

Hey! My relationship with my sup is pretty informal- we've been on first name terms from the beginning, and she also texts me now and again, and we have recently become friends on facebook, although I am not convinced that is a good move...we shall see! We send each other jokey emails and texts etc. I think starting an email with 'hope you are well' is fine...it would be hard to be offended by that! Best, KB

H

Quote From Dafydd:

I am a mature student which may change things. My relationship is as mentor mentee (?sp), first name terms and very informal on emails..

Thanks. Out of curiosity, how old do you have to be to count as a mature student? Over 21 or 25?

C

Hope you are well is always a good start.

I have a very informal relationship with my sup... if you call mature over 25 i'm near deaths door (pushing 40 too hard). So my sups and I are near the same age.

I think its like every relationship you start off being polite but friendly and then see what develops. I think they, like anyone, will let you know fairly early on what sort of relationship they want and expect.

Chuff

N