SHOCKED!!

B

I've heard about this, and I know it goes on...but...maybe I've been too naive.

I'm desperate to earn some money and I know I can proofread and edit really well as I've been doing it for many years. So I decided to register with a site that said it dealt with academic proof-reading.

NO!!! There was no proof-reading. Instead, students were asking writers to do their Masters and PhDs for them (the admin says these are just templates - ha ha!). These were all laid out on the site, like on ebay. Some guy was offering just under £3k for an entire 100,000 word PhD. Kids were offering £500 for a Masters and even dictating what grade they wanted! Undergrads were offering between £15 and £30 for a 2,500 word essay. There was NO original writing contribution at all. Just the question. The writer had to provide the entire assignment.

If people can pay £3k for a PhD why are we putting ourselves through all this angst and soul-searching and last-minute panic and viva vivisections? What's this all about?

I'm truly sickened. As I said, I'd heard about it, and I've seen some suspect dissertations. But this was so in-your-face that I'm still reeling.:-s Isn't there a section in every PhD on ethics???

Blimey - I'm shocked they ony charge 3k for a PhD! I'd want at least 60k to write another one, and that's without overheads... My fees are 3 tiimes that!

B

Exactly! How cheap do they think these things come? Blood, sweat, tears, battles, and in my case £100,000 in lost earnings and fees.

B

If a PhD thesis has been written by someone else that should be picked up at the viva. A big part of the viva is to establish that the student wrote the thesis, and this is done through astute questioning by the examiners.

Far more common are the sort of rip-off "universities" that will provide PhDs for a fee. These carry no weight academically, and would not be regarded as good qualifications for academic job purposes.